Skip to main content
NewsCommunityCody J. Cooper2024

Phillips Murrah Director Cody Cooper Receives 2024 Leadership in Law Award

By May 16th, 2024No Comments
Leadership in Law Award Winners

2024 OCBA Leadership in Law Award recipients from left: Kate Dodoo, Genni Ellis, Cody Cooper, and Kelly Masters-Newton. Photo courtesy of OCBA.

Phillips Murrah Director Cody J. Cooper recently received a 2024 Leadership in Law Award, recognizing his outstanding contributions to the legal profession and the community. The award, presented by The Journal Record and the Oklahoma County Bar Association (OCBA) at the annual Law Day luncheon, is a testament to Cody’s exemplary leadership and dedication.

“I’m deeply honored and humbled to receive this prestigious award, especially alongside so many other deserving recipients,” Cody said. “My involvement with the Oklahoma County Bar Associate is a source of great joy, and I value the opportunity to contribute to the Bar’s leadership alongside individuals and professionals whom I hold in high regard. I eagerly anticipate continuing my involvement for many more years.”

Cody, who just concluded his term as 2022-2023 OCBA President, has an exceptional history of leadership service within the Association. In the fall of 2017, he began his term as Chair of OCBA’s Young Lawyers Division (YLD). That experience enabled him to take part in the OCBA Board of Directors, which increased his desire to serve his fellow legal professionals.

In 2021, OCBA members voted to elect Cody as Vice President, at which time he said, “I enjoy being involved in the Oklahoma County Bar because it provides me an opportunity to be directly involved with Oklahoma County’s legal community.” Cody added that serving in OCBA leadership has provided him an excellent opportunity to meet and work with others in the legal community with whom he otherwise wouldn’t have had the opportunity. “I have the chance to work directly with our county judges, law schools, and practitioners throughout the county to further the work of the bar and provide a positive community impact.”

Upon being elected as OCBA President in 2022, Cody expressed appreciation for the impact the organization has had on the Oklahoma City community and throughout its membership, adding, “As President, I look forward to devoting my efforts to improving the OCBA and continuing its long tradition of community service and membership benefits.”

As a Shareholder at Phillips Murrah, Cody is a seasoned and respected litigator and a licensed patent attorney representing individuals and companies in various business litigation and intellectual property matters. He has been actively involved in community and charitable organizations, such as serving as a board member for CASA of Oklahoma County. He has also volunteered with organizations such as Camp CavettNewView OklahomaSalvation Army, and at various public schools throughout the Oklahoma City Metro. Born and raised in Norman, Oklahoma, he understandably graduated from the University of Oklahoma College of Law with Honors. Cody now resides in Oklahoma City with his wife, two kids, and two dogs.

In previous years, Phillips Murrah has had other recipients of this award, including Candance Williams Lisle in 2022Nikki Jones Edwards in 2017, Andrew S. Mildren in 2012Dawn M. Rahme and Fred A. Leibrock in 2010, and Sally A. Hasenfratz and Byrona J. Maule in 2008.

Follow Phillips Murrah on social media:

Instagram Logo facebook Icon LinkedIn Logo Twitter icon