Skip to main content
Group of Phillips Murrah lawyers at the 2024 OCU Law Alumni Awards Gala.

Members of Phillips Murrah celebrate after the 2024 OCU Law Alumni Awards Gala, held on April 19 at Oklahoma City Golf and Country Club. From left: Eric Davis, Bob O’Bannon, Marc Edwards, Jim Roth, Nikki Edwards, Hilary Clifton, Jonna Vanderslice, Kelsey Chilcoat, Colby Karcher, Hilda Loury, Peter Wright, Cindy Murray, Dave Rhea, and Mark Hornbeek.

Phillips Murrah is proud to be the Presenting Sponsor of the 2024 Oklahoma City University School of Law Alumni Awards Gala. On Friday, April 19, OCU Law’s Alumni Association honored alumni and their many contributions to the legal community.

Phillips Murrah Director and OCU Law Dean Emeritus, Jim Roth, was the emcee for the evening. Throughout the course of the event, 2024 award recipients were acknowledged and honored for outstanding dedication to OCU Law, the legal profession, and the community at large.

Oklahoma City Mayor and current OCU Law Dean, David Holt, made a guest emcee appearance and capped off the evening by presenting Jim with the 2024 Distinguished Alum Award. See a video of his acceptance speech below.

“When OCU School of Law invited me here in 1991, I had no idea what a wonderful life that school, this law degree, and my career pursuits would allow,” Jim said, reflecting on the evening and the award. “Today, I am full of gratitude to OCU Law for the work colleagues I thoroughly enjoy, the importance of the clean energy work I get to do, and for the lucky adventures of my life, twists and turns and all, in public life and private practice. OCU School of Law gave me my passport to this life.

“As a 1L law student in 1991 at OCU School of Law, I had no idea that I would call Oklahoma home ever since,” Jim continued. “But what I did learn immediately, and carry with me every day, is that we lawyers in America must answer the daily call to work hard, to always tell the truth, to defend this great democracy, and to help our clients, often in their darkest hour. It can be a lot, but it is also a blessing.”

“The success of Oklahoma City’s law school is dependent upon our greater legal community and OCU Law could not ask for a better community partner than Phillips Murrah,” said Travis Weedn, Chair of the OCU Law Alumni Association Board of Directors. “As a presenting sponsor, Phillips Murrah’s support allows us to recognize deserving legal professionals and raise funds for scholarships. We appreciate all the ways in which PM creates opportunities for our students.”

The full line-up of 2024 Alumni Awards Gala award recipients are:

  • Outstanding Young Alum: Allison McGrew
  • Community Service: Palomar
  • Distinguished Alum: Jim Roth
  • Law Firm of Distinction: Williams, Box, Forshee & Bullard
  • Opala Lifetime Achievement: Blue Clark

The event was presented by the Oklahoma City University School of Law Alumni Association. For more information, contact them HERE.

Click on the video below to watch Phillips Murrah Director and OCU Law Dean Emeritus Jim Roth’s acceptance speech. Jim received the Distinguished Alum Award at the 2024 OCU Law Alumni Awards Gala.