Skip to main content
Lauren Symcox VothNews

Attorney Lauren Voth supports Metropolitan Library System through Literary Voices

By June 13th, 2022No Comments

Lauren Symcox Voth and author Lisa Scottoline

The Metropolitan Library System selected author Lisa Scottoline as the featured author for the 2017 Literary Voices event on April 11, and attorney Lauren Symcox Voth lent her time and support to make the event a success.

“The library system has been a large part of my life, since I was a kid,” Voth said. “My mom was the chair of the Literary Voices Committee in 2011-2012. I showed up to a meeting to introduce the committee to my first daughter who had just been born a few weeks earlier, and I ended up staying and joined the committee.”

Since then, Voth has been involved with the committee in various capacities.

“For the 2017 Literary Voices event, I assisted committee chairs Karen Delaney and Gail Huneryager with the decorations for the event, which is always very creative on a shoestring budget for this fundraiser,” she said.

Literary Voices began in 2003 and is an annual event to raise money for the Library Endowment Trust, which benefits the Metropolitan Library System.

“Authors provide great insight into their own background, experiences, and often what lead to their inspiration for many of their books,” Voth said. “The 2017 author was Lisa Scottoline, a former attorney who practiced employment law before jumping into being a full-time author.

“Lisa has written a variety of books, but her series about the female law firm of Rosato & DiNunzio and Rosato & Associates are probably her most successful. She has also written emotional thrillers and humorous non-fiction and was an exceptionally entertaining author this year.”

Past authors invited to the event include:

  • Sebastian Junger (2016)
  • P.J. O’Rourke (2015)
  • Khaled Hosseini (2014)
  • David McCullough (2013)
  • Mary Higgins Clark (2012)
  • Laura Bush (2011)
  • Harlan Coben (2010)
  • Ann Patchett (2009)
  • Scott Turow (2008)
  • Sue Grafton (2007)
  • Jane Seymour (2006)
  • Juan Williams (2005)
  • Dr. Beck Weathers (2004)
  • Dave Barry (2003)

Click here to learn more about the Metropolitan Library System’s Endowment Trust and how to get involved.