Skip to main content

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK, SEPTEMBER 11, 2013 — Phillips Murrah, one of Oklahoma’s largest law firms, announced today that 29 of its attorneys were selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America© 2014. Marc Edwards, Sally Hasenfratz, and Mel McVay, shareholders in the Firm, have been named “Lawyers of the Year” for Government Relations, Land Use and Zoning Law, and Litigation – Bankruptcy, respectively.  According to Best Lawyers, “Only a single lawyer in each practice area and designated metropolitan area is honored as the “Lawyer of the Year,” making this honor particularly significant.”

“Our attorneys are proud to be consistently recognized by peers for delivering outstanding legal service to our clients,” said Tom Wolfe, a 2014 Best Lawyer® selection and the Firm’s managing partner.

Among the Firm’s breadth of legal services, more than 20 practice areas are represented by the attorneys that have been honored as this year’s Best Lawyers®, including:  banking and finance law, energy and natural resources, real estate, and tax law.

Since it was first published in 1983, Best Lawyers® has become universally regarded as the definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers® is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which almost 50,000 leading attorneys cast nearly five million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their practice areas, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel Magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

Phillips Murrah’s 29 attorneys included in The Best Lawyers in America© 2014 are listed by name; first year included, and recognized practice areas:

  • Marc Edwards (2010) – Administrative/Regulatory Law; Government Relations Practice
  • Andrew S. Mildren (2013) – Administrative/Regulatory Law; Government Relations Practice
  • J. Mark Lovelace (2011) – Banking and Finance Law
  • Donald A. Pape (2011) – Banking and Finance Law
  • Timothy D. Kline (1987) – Bankruptcy and Creditor Debtor Rights/Insolvency and Reorganization Law
  • Thomas G. Wolfe (2008) – Bet-the-Company Litigation; Commercial Litigation; Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants; Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • Shannon K. Emmons (2013) – Commercial Litigation
  • Juston R. Givens (2013) – Commercial Litigation
  • Fred A. Leibrock (2010) – Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Antitrust; Litigation – ERISA; Litigation – Real Estate
  • Melvin R. McVay, Jr. (2011) – Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Banking and Finance; Litigation – Bankruptcy; Litigation – Real Estate
  • Michael R. Perri (2010) – Commercial Litigation; Energy Law; Natural Resources Law; Oil and Gas Law
  • Robert N. Sheets (2012) – Commercial Litigation; Litigation – Land Use and Zoning; Litigation – Real Estate
  • Jennifer L. Miller (2013) – Commercial Litigation
  • Lyndon W. Whitmire (2013) – Commercial Litigation; Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • Sally A. Hasenfratz (2009) – Construction Law; Land Use and Zoning Law; Real Estate Law
  • Jim Roth (2012) – Environmental Law; Government Relations Practice; Natural Resources Law
  • William S. Price (2013) – Government Relations Practice
  • Stephen W. Elliott (2014) – Litigation – Bankruptcy
  • Robert J. Haupt (2012) – Litigation – Bankruptcy; Litigation – Land Use and Zoning
  • John D. Hastie (1983) – Litigation – Real Estate; Real Estate Law
  • Elizabeth K. Brown (2008) – Litigation – Trusts and Estates; Litigation and Controversy – Tax; Tax Law; Trusts and Estates
  • Robert O. O’Bannon (2008) – Litigation and Controversy – Tax; Tax Law
  • Dawn M. Rahme (2013) – Litigation and Controversy – Tax; Tax Law
  • Raymond E. Zschiesche (2013) – Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants; Product Liability Litigation – Defendants
  • G. Calvin Sharpe (2012) – Medical Malpractice Law – Defendants; Personal Injury Litigation – Defendants
  • Terry L. Hawkins (2013) – Public Finance Law
  • Cindy H. Murray (2012) – Real Estate Law
  • Douglas A. Branch (2008) – Securities/Capital Markets Law; Venture Capital Law
  • Michael D. Carter (2012) – Workers’ Compensation Law – Employers

About Phillips Murrah

Phillips Murrah is represented by more than 65 attorneys, 20 practice areas, and is one of Oklahoma’s leading business law firms. The Firm is recognized for providing multidisciplinary legal services in matters involving virtually all aspects of business law and litigation. Our attorneys are trusted legal advisors and strategic partners, focused on our clients’ objectives, and helping them achieve their goals.
For more information, visit:


Peter Wyro, Director of Marketing
Phillips Murrah
405.552.2489 Direct

Leave a Reply