Seminole Nation tribal member Calvin Sharpe among new officers chosen to lead Red Earth, Inc’s Board of Directors


[ NOVEMBER 2010 – OKLAHOMA CITY, OK ] A new slate of officers will lead the Red Earth Board of Directors for FY 2011. Members of the newly-elected Red Earth Executive Committee will oversee operations of the Red Earth Museum & Gallery in downtown Oklahoma City, and the additional programs of the organization including the Silver Anniversary Red Earth Native American Cultural Festival scheduled June 3-5, 2011 at Oklahoma City’s Cox Convention Center.

G. Calvin Sharpe, an attorney with Phillips Murrah PC Attorneys at Law, will serve a two-year term as President of the Board of Directors. Sharpe is a member of the Seminole Nation of Oklahoma and is a graduate of the University of Oklahoma College of Law, past chairman of the Oklahoma County Bar Association, graduate of Leadership Oklahoma City Class XXIV, and a member of the Board of Directors for Infant Crisis Services.

Civic and community leader Lou C. Kerr will serve as Chairman of the Red Earth Board of Directors. She is a founder of the Red Earth Festival and is recipient of the 2005 Red Earth Ambassador of the Year Award. As an active leader in the community and state, she has committed her time and expertise to numerous organizations which correspond with her beliefs and expectations. She served as vice president of The Kerr Foundation since 1985. In 1999, she became president of The Kerr Foundation and in 2004 her title became president and chair.

Janet Dyke, a resident of Tuttle, OK will serve a two-year term as President Elect. She is the Associate Director of AT&T Business Solutions Project Management Office and has worked in the communications industry for 30 years. She is a past president of the board for Big Brothers Big Sisters and has served on the Redlands Council of the Girl Scouts.

John H. Jameson, DDS, a resident of Davis, OK will serve as Treasurer of the Board of Directors. He writes for numerous dental publications and travels the world lecturing on leadership and technology’s integration into dental practices. He is a graduate of Oklahoma State University, has served as chairman of the Alumni Advisory Council for Creighton University School of Dentistry and is recipient of the Thomas Jefferson Award for Citizenship from the Oklahoma Dental Association.

Leslie Blair, a native of Frederick, OK, is elected Secretary of the Organization. She is currently Public Information Officer for the Oklahoma tourism and Recreation Department and previously served in the same capacity at the Oklahoma Department of Commerce. She received her bachelor’s degree in communications from Cameron University and currently serves on the board of the Directors for the Oklahoma County 4-H Foundation. She is a member of the Friends of Hackberry Flatt and the Junior League of Oklahoma City.

Jonna K. Kirschner, Deputy Director and General Counsel for the Oklahoma Department of Commerce, is Immediate Past-President of the Red Earth Board of Directors. She graduated cum laude from both Dartmouth College and Boston College Law School where she earned her Juris Doctorate degree. She has been honored by The Journal Record as one of “50 Making a Difference,” is a sustaining member of the Junior League of Oklahoma City, and a member of the Early American Glass Club. She has served as a member of the Board of Directors of St. Luke’s Children’s Center, Girl Scouts Redlands Council, Oscar Jacobson Foundation and the Oklahoma City Chapter of the Women Presidents Organization. She and her husband, Bruce Scambler, have two sons.

Douglas R. Cummings, Chairman of Cummings Oil Company, Inc is named Member-at-large. He has been an officer or director of numerous civic and business organizations and non-profit associations including the Oklahoma Health Center Foundation and the University of Oklahoma Sarkeys Energy Center.

Area business, education and community leaders Deborah Downing Goodman Ph.D., Anne Kueteman, Margaret Knight and John Murray are elected to three-year terms on the Red Earth Board of Directors. Goodman, a member of the Caddo Nation of Oklahoma, received a Ph.D. from the University of Oklahoma’s Department of Educational Leadership and Policy Studies. She is a published Adjunct Assistant Professor of Human Relations at the University of Oklahoma.

Kueteman is the Cathedral Ministries Coordinator for St Paul’s Episcopal Cathedral in Oklahoma City. She and her husband own TheKuetemanGroup, an Oklahoma operated company with its roots in creative expression.

Knight, a member of the Pueblo of Laguna, New Mexico, is Executive Director of the Association of American Indian Physicians where she has worked since 1988. She is active in the Oklahoma City Indian community serving in a number of leadership capacities.

Murray, a member of the Chickasaw Nation of Oklahoma, is a partner in Hatbrand Development Group which owns the local Handyman Matters franchise in Oklahoma City. He grew up in Oklahoma City, attending local schools and graduating from the University of Oklahoma.

For more than 30 years, the 501 (c) 3 nonprofit Red Earth, Inc has been dedicated to its mission to promote the rich traditions of American Indian arts and cultures through education, a premier festival, museum and fine art markets. The organization is recognized as the region’s premier organization for advancing the understanding and continuation of Native American traditional and contemporary culture and arts.

The Red Earth Museum, located in downtown Oklahoma City, hosts a diverse and changing schedule of art and historical exhibitions and is custodian of a permanent collection of more than 1,400 items of fine art, pottery, basketry, textiles and beadwork – including the Deupree Cradleboard Collection, one of the finest individual collections of its kind in North America.